Blogger Ethics: The Quest for a Genuine “Like”

My blogs have been discovered by a group of Internet users who claim to be making so more than $120,000 per month working very little, all online, from beautiful, remote locations.  While I appreciate the readership, I want to feel as though people are actually “liking” my posts, not just blindly clicking the button in an effort to grow their network.

All the “likes” come from apparent wordpress users, but they all link to Project AWOL and advertise making easy money. It reminds me of the signs you sometimes see on roads with high traffic telling you you can work from home and make thousands of dollars per month. Times infinity.

Here’s what I’ve noticed about blogging online.  Growing readership is not easy or necessarily organic.  When I get new readers, I find it exciting, and I visit their sites and see what they are about.  I don’t follow sites I’m not interested in. I don’t follow sites to get follow-backs.  Maybe I’m too old-school for this game.

Unlike the 19 year-olds who claim to run Project AWOL.  This is NOT an endorsement of their work, but the YouTube video is interesting.  Somehow, it seems more like a cult than a business.  

3 comments on “Blogger Ethics: The Quest for a Genuine “Like”

  1. I’ve noticed the same phenomenon, especially with followers. Based on traffic stats, maybe 10-20% of my “followers” actually read the content I post. And yes, an authentic “like” is hard to come by.

  2. iamjjstone says:

    I agree with you. I notice that my first few followers seemed to be selling something. I can definitely tell when traffic counts haven’t changed yet I’m getting likes that without fail I find the likes came from some cheesy site that wants to help me make millions from my blog.

  3. aviets says:

    I’m really glad you posted about this issue. It’s been bugging me for a long time. Such an obvious scam. I really can’t stand these trolls.
    -Amy

Leave a Reply

