For my Valentine: Our love is so great it’s illegal in 40 states (Or, Valentine, Patron Saint of Marriage Rights)

And so the deluge of anti-romantic pessimism on social media begins.  I *might* be a newlywed, but I just don’t get it.  All the hype and drama from single people about how they don’t need another holiday to make them feel more alone (thanks Lady Edith) – not only does it bring me down, it takes the meaning away from Valentine’s Day altogether.  Same with the spouses and partners who somehow don’t seem to make mental notes as they put away the Christmas decorations, and don’t seem to notice when the calendar turns to February.  Do these people NEVER set foot in a grocery store?  I’ve been dodging stray pink helium heart balloons for weeks now.  It’s not a Hallmark holiday like Grandparents Day (I adore my grandparents, by the way, but had to plead my case to a seven year-old this past June when I purchased Father’s Day cards made for Grandpa), or Sweetest Day (perhaps this one’s only in Ohio).  I’ve read about St. Valentine, but never did it strike me as much as it did this year.  This bishop is the patron saint of marriage rights.  Check out this Mashable video (suitable for viewers of all ages):

Why has the LGBT community not adopted this saint yet?  I never expected to be linking to the 700 Club, but even their synopsis of St. Valentine’s legacy is pro-marriage.  Is it just me, or are these folks making a pretty solid case for equal marriage rights here?  I hereby declare St. Valentine to be the patron saint of LGBT marriage rights – and I guess there’s no pope right now to stop me.  Perhaps Illinois will celebrate Valentine’s Day by voting for marriage rights for all later today.

Did you forget Valentine’s Day? There are social media Valentine’s options…  Stop what you’re doing (after you like this post) and text your sweetie a message.  Something like: “I love you.”  Or, “Our love is so intense it’s illegal in 40 states.”  Or go to Mashable.com and print the Valentine you think best suits your love.  There are lots of cute ideas on Pintrest as well.  We’ll be playing Valentine’s math with pink kisses later this afternoon at our house. But, whatever you do, let Valentine’s Day be about the freedom to love, and the power of love – and delight in it!

Leave a Reply

